Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Review: Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins
Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2)
Series: The Sweet Trilogy, #2
Release Date
: April 30th 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
: 372
Genre: Young Adult – Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance
My Collection
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads
Buy it: Amazon | The Book Depository
Add it: Goodreads

Anna Whitt, the daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a vow. She’d been naive about a lot of things.

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?

I really love this trilogy so far. It has blown way past my expectations. Which is awesome. It has been a while since I have wanted to pick one book up right after the other. The day after I finished reading the first book I went out and bought this one at full price! If you know me, then you know this is not the norm.

For those of you who did not go immediately on to the second book then there is something at the beginning that will be quiet helpful. There is a chart of the Auras and what all the colors are and what they mean. Then at the end of the book, which also happens in the first book, there is a list of all the Dukes and their sons, and what their jobs are.

The book starts off about six months after the last one ended. Anna has turned into a party girl, trying to show the demons that she is working like she is supposed to. Although she always feels bad for the people she persuades to do things. She hasn’t seen or heard from Kaidan since he left with his band to go to LA. Her friends Jay and Veronica have officially become a couple after making up for what happened at the New Year’s Eve party.

The book is broken up into seasons, starting with June the summer before senior year, then continues on to fall, winter, etc. Anna’s father sends her and her friend Kope to different assignments, recruiting people for “the good side”. They travel to many different places. There is a lot of sexual tension going on during their times together and one pretty big shocker. Because of their travels together we are introduced to some new characters. We also get to see Ginger and Marna from the first book again. I really like those girls and the relationship they have as sisters.

Kaidan is mentioned numerous times in the book but doesn’t actually show up until about half way through. This of course made their first encounter so much better. There is a lot of growing done between the two of them in this book.  There is one particular scene between the two of them that I have read more than once. Definitely written perfectly!

If you have read the first book then I highly recommend continuing on with the trilogy. It’s so worth it. I read this book in one day no problem. Can’t wait to buy the third book!

My Rating:

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing your opinions so please feel free to leave me a comment!