Sunday, February 9, 2014

Review: Fates by Lanie Bross (28 Days of Reviews #9)

Fates by Lanie Bross
Fates (Fates, #1)
Series: Fates, #1
Release Date
: February 11th 2014
  Delacorte Press
Format: ebook
: 336
Genre: Young Adult – Fantasy
Buy it: Amazon | The Book Depository
Add it: Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Julie Kagawa, Rachel Vincent, and Sarah J. Maas, and for girls who love all things pretty, romantic and inspirational.

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people's fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again--this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

Corinthe is an exciled fate from the world of Pyralis Terra. She has been sent to Humana also known as Earth to become an Executor. Executors are supposed to make sure people’s fates unfold as they are supposed to. She is involved in many deaths but also happy things like births, chance meetings, and people reuniting. She has been in Humana for 10 years for a mistake she made in her home world. She is the only Fate to be banished.

She has a guardian named Miranda who came to her rescue when Corinthe was first banished to Earth. Miranda tells Corinthe that in order to return home all she has to do is kill Lucas Kaller. Corinthe has never had to actually kill anyone, so she starts to have doubts. Miranda also is not as nice of person as Corinthe thinks she is.

Lucas Kaller is the other point of view that we get. He lives in a more rundown neighborhood with his sister and drunk father. His sister is a 16 year old who is into drinking and drugs and she reminds Luc very much of his mother. Luc takes most of the responsibility of taking care of the apartment and his sister because since his mother left, his father hasn’t really cared. Luc has a chance meeting with Corinthe after a car accident and starting from there, their fates are intertwined.

This book wasn’t too bad over all, the writing wasn’t the best thing I have ever read. The would randomly talk about different groups of people, such as “the Tribunal” and “the Messanger”, but they weren’t ever really explained who they were. You could eventually figure it out but a straight up explanation would have been nice. I was also very confused when it came to Luc’s mother. Sometimes they were talk about her leaving and even had a back story explaining it, but a couple times it is mentioned that she died. I never really figured out what happened with that.

The ending is definitely a bit of a cliffhanger. I liked the wrap up of his father coming back into the picture and I would like to see what happens with Corinthe and her caregiver. So even though it wasn’t my favorite book I would still like to pick up the second book. This is unlike anything I have ever read so it still managed to keep my attention.

My Rating:

*This book was provided by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing your opinions so please feel free to leave me a comment!