Friday, July 4, 2014

Review: Renegade (MILA 2.0, #2) by Debra Driza

Renegade by Debra Driza

Series: MILA 2.0, #2
Release Date
: May 13th 2014
Publisher:  Katherine Tegen Books
Format: egalley
: 448
Genre: Young Adult – Science Fiction
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads
Buy it: Amazon | The Book Depository
Add it: Goodreads

There is no one left for Mila to trust. Except for a boy she barely knows.

But Hunter has no idea who—and what—Mila really is. She can’t bear to reveal her secret, even though he’s unwittingly joined her search for Richard Grady, a man who may know more details of Mila’s complicated past.

Yet the road to the truth is more dangerous than ever. With General Holland and the Vita Obscura scouring the earth for her whereabouts, Mila must rely on her newfound android abilities to protect herself and Hunter from imminent harm. Still, embracing her identity as a machine leads her to question the state of her humanity—as well as Hunter’s real motives.

Perfect for fans of I Am Number Four and Divergent, this action-packed and heart-wrenching second installment of MILA 2.0 will leave readers breathlessly awaiting the series conclusion.

*This is a review of the second book and it may contain spoilers.*

You’ll have to excuse this short, sort of vague review, it’s been over a month since I’ve read it and my notes weren’t quite as on par as they usually are. So I’m trying to remember the best that I can.

Renegade starts off two days after Mila made the phone call to Hunter to meet her in Virginia Beach. She hasn’t told him anything about herself or what happened to her mom. He doesn’t question it either. Everything about him is shady and she doesn’t even really know him. At least the author acknowledges that point though. Mila goes in search of the man that her mother told her about at the end of the first book. She tells Hunter that they are in search of her biological father. He completely believes her.

Mila and Hunter are running from Holland’s men and the Vita Obscure, which is a lot closer to Mila than she thinks. There were a few action scenes in this book, one in particular involving Mila 3.0 that I enjoyed. Other than that it wasn’t quite as exciting as the first book. This book focuses more on finding answers to questions from the first book. I say that it did not suffer from “middle books syndrome” like a lot of second books do, even though I think some people would disagree with me. There are some twists and betrayals and lots of Mila’s feelings are explored in this book.  

As I did with the first book, I found myself flying through it. The writing flows very nicely and I really enjoy reading these books, even though some of Mila’s decisions are on the dumber side. I never found myself getting bored with the story and I fully plan on continuing on with the next book. As of right now, according to Goodreads, the third book is untitled and has no release date. I hope I don’t have to wait to long for it!

My Rating:

*This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing your opinions so please feel free to leave me a comment!